Is amaranth gluten-free?
Yes, amaranth is naturally free from gluten. This makes it a great addition to your diet if you are sensitive or intolerant to gluten.Amaranth grain can be used as a substitute for rice or millet alongside a main meal, or you can use it to make a delicious porridge. When cooked in water, it develops a similar glutinous texture to oats, making your breakfast deliciously thick and creamy.Amaranth benefits >>
Different ways to enjoy amaranth
Amaranth is a wonderful whole grain to add to your pantry, but it’s also available in other forms as well.Puffed amaranth has a crisp and light texture, ideal for adding into snack bars or scattering over yoghurt. Meanwhile, amaranth flour can be used in a gluten-free flour blend or in your normal recipes.Amaranth recipes >>
How to cook amaranth
Are you trying amaranth for the first time? Ancient grains can seem intimidating if you’re not used to them, but amaranth is very easy to cook and use.Amaranth is officially a ‘pseudocereal’, meaning it’s really a seed, but we treat it like a grain.Therefore a good rule of thumb is to cook amaranth as you would other grains. To cook it simply as a side dish, use two cups of water for each cup of amaranth and simmer in a covered pan for 20 minutes. The grains should look slightly fluffy and have absorbed all the water.For porridge, simply cook with a little more water and stir every now and again until you reach your desired consistency.Amaranth FAQs >>